January

This blog and list has been so good for me in the first month.  I’ve been on my computer less and have been learning a bunch – like that I hate working with cream cheese, lasagna is exhausting to make, and I think I want a wolf as a pet…

#6 – TRY A NEW-TO-ME RECIPE ONCE A MONTH

I decided I wanted to try cooking and baking more, in an attempt to be more domestic and so I can show off my skillz at future church potlucks. For my first attempt at a new-to-me recipe, I made lasagna. And it was actually edible and no one got sick from it (that I know of).  I used my mom’s recipe and I was quite proud of myself for how it turned out. Future husband, eat your heart out!

Lasagna is exhausting

Lasagna is exhausting

#7 – MAKE A BATCH OF CUPCAKES ONCE A MONTH & BECOME A LEGIT CUPCAKE QUEEN

First off, I’m amending this rule to be “make a batch of cupcakes or a new dessert once a month”.  As much as I LOVE cupcakes and how cute and sugary they are, there are some awesome desserts out there too that I want to try.  Don’t worry, I’ll share.

So I made my first batch of cupcakes yesterday! It wasn’t the Betty Crocker out of the box kind, so these were legit. I made Red Velvet Cream Cheese Cupcakes, that I found on Pinterest. (PS, here’s my  Cupcakes and Desserts board.) The cream cheese part was ridiculous, that stuff just doesn’t break down all that easy.

I texted my friend halfway through “cupcake update: batter is delicious”.  The end product wasn’t too shabby.  They didn’t look any like how the professional picture did, but we’ll blame that on me not knowing what I’m doing. My parents both ate one and no one’s died yet, so we’ll call this a win!

Red Velvet Cake and Cupcakes 073

The original recipe…

Red Velvet Cream Cheese Cupcakes

Nailed it…

#19 – DO A PINTEREST CRAFT PROJECT ONCE A MONTH

I pin all these arts and crafts on my Pinterest account but never follow through on any of them… until now. For my first craft project, I went the easy route and decided on “buttoning” a picture frame for myself.  I had made a similar frame for my goddaughter’s 6th birthday and one for my bestie for her graduation from ISU. (It pained me to put red and yellow together, black and gold looks so much better).  I had a ton of leftover buttons from these projects, so all I needed was a new wood frame – cost me $3 at Hobby Lobby. I also found a fun “friends” sticker from Hobby Lobby, also $4.  So then I just spent the night hot gluing buttons onto the frame and watching How I Met Your Mother.  It was legen… wait for it… DARY!

Here’s the finished product.  I decided this frame was for me and would go in my bedroom, so of course I went the purple route. Looks decent, but it was definitely an easy project. I’m looking forward to a new arts and crafts project in February!

photo

I don’t know who those babies are, definitely not my kids.

#22 READ A NEW BOOK, 2 A MONTH.

We’ll call January “Wolf Month”.  I ended up reading 2 books revolving around wolves (which is why I’m pretty sure I want a wolf now).

I started with Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult, my favorite author.  I’ve read all of her books, she’s great at creating really believable characters and situations.  I had actually started this book awhile ago, but got distracted (let’s be honest, it was the 50 Shades trilogy). Once I picked Lone Wolf up again, I couldn’t stop.  Jodi Picoult does some intense research on some of the most random topics and somehow brings them all together in one book.  This book revolved around wolves, vegetative states and right to live, and family drama.  I kept waiting for the twist at the end, that makes you question why you like one character over another, and once again, there it was BOOM!

I just finished Theft by BK Loren.  This book also revolved around wolves, as one of the main characters, Willa, a wolf tracker, is asked to consult with the police on tracking her older brother, Zeb, who has confessed to murder, but now disappeared into the woods.  (Long run on sentence there, sorry).  SLOW beginning to Theft, but once all the characters were introduced, things got better – until the end of the book. “It” just kind of happened, and FAST.

********************************************************************************************

There’s my monthly update, of everything I want to do during the month.  I’m making great progress on seeing all the Oscar Best Film nominees. I’m 5 of 9 right now – if anyone has any interest in seeing Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Lincoln, or the dumb French film Amoure, let me know, they are on my to-see list.

If you can believe it, I’ve been doing 100 ab exercises every night and have been rocking my sit ups now at FXB in the mornings.  I also solo rang handbells for the first time in my life and LOVED it.  I’m playing the song at my church on my birthday and will get it recorded. And then blogged, and then it’ll be official.

Thanks everyone for all the support so far, I’ve received some really great feedback and some fun suggestions for my 24th thing to do.  Keep ’em coming, I’ll make a decision on my birthday – we’re officially one month away until the big two four.  Stay in touch too – Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram… I’m around.

 

 

2 thoughts on “January

  1. I will let you know when we go to Life of Pi, if you want to join us. Where will we see Amour? I don’t have plans to go to France in the next month…I won’t see Django Unchained – I’m not a Quentin Tarantino fan.

Leave a Reply

