March

Does anyone else think March was the slowest month on record? Good Lawwd, it felt slow!  I’m sitting in my apartment, waiting for the Mediacom man (running late, as usual) and just reflecting on the past month. I had plans pretty much every weekend which was nice to do something fun – go to a concert, do a run with coworkers, or visit my roomies, but it still felt like the month dragged on. I’m hoping this good Iowa spring weather (40 degrees, what’s up) is here to stay and make things a little more exciting.  Here’s what went down in March and my quarter life crisis.

#6 – TRY A NEW-TO-ME RECIPE ONCE A MONTH

This month I was excited to put my new kickasserole dish to good use! I found a recipe for Chicken and Noodle Casserole on Pinterest. I like chicken, I like noodles, this should be good. And it was! I had a little trouble getting started, and the phone calls to my mother began. “Mom, how do I bake a chicken?” “Mom, is cream of chicken soup like a thing?”

Once I got started cooking, I had like 3 pots of water boiling and stuff flying everywhere, I looked like Julia Child. I only had one minor noodle spill, but the end result was great! I ended up making the full recipe, so I ate leftover  Chicken and Noodle casserole for basically a week, but heyo, I’m cheap.

Kickasserole dish FTW

Kickasserole dish FTW

#7 – MAKE A BATCH OF CUPCAKES ONCE A MONTH & BECOME A LEGIT CUPCAKE QUEEN

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes. Sounds super healthy, right?  Pretty much both parts of the cupcakes – the batter and the frosting included Oreos. Oh, and the bottom had an Oreo baked into it as well. Right up my alley! My amazing friend Nicki had bought me a cupcake holder, recipe book, paper cups, and sprinkles to help me become a true Cupcake Queen. AND A TIARA AND A WAND. And yes, I wore the tiara whilst baking.

Baking the cupcakes went well, without any spills or incidents worth noting.  The frosting I substituted KoolWhip instead of heavy whipping cream by my mom’s suggestion. (Cindy, for the win, as usual).  I brought 2 dozen cupcakes into work the next day and left with 4.  I was worried that I had food poisoned the whole office, but as of now, I have yet to be traced back to any weekend illnesses.

Seriously LOVE the cupcake holder.

Seriously LOVE the cupcake holder.

#19 – DO A PINTEREST CRAFT PROJECT ONCE A MONTH

This past weekend I was able to have a roomie reunion with some of my former roomies in college. We spent the weekend in exotic Clear Lake, Iowa right on the lake. The lake was frozen, it was cold, there was snow on the ground – it was not prime Clear Lake time.  But we still had a blast together and decided to have a Pinterest Party. Everyone brought the materials needed to do something that they’ve seen on Pinterest and it turns out I have some pretty creative friends!  By the end of the Pinterest Party, we had our hurrr did, new lip balm, hair bling, and smores dip. Oh, and I made some light decorations for my living room.  (I realize now, slightly selfish to not bring a more share-able project, my baaaaad). Basically just Dixie cups, some LED lights, and scrapbook paper … I put that glue gun to use.

These are lights.

These are lights.

#22 READ A NEW BOOK, 2 A MONTH.

If you know me and my reading habits, you know I LOVE Jodi Picoult books.  At this point, she could probably write a book with no words in it, get it published, and I’d think it was a New York Times #1 Best Seller. I’ve always claimed her book The Pact is my all time favorite book. After I read The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, I’ve found a new favorite book.  Since 4th grade, I’ve had one of those weird obsessions with the Holocaust, which I know sounds weird and probably awful.  I’ve just always enjoyed reading survivor stories and historical fiction.  So the fact that Jodi Picoult my favorite author is writing about the Holocaust, a subject I’m interested in = I couldn’t wait to get started.

The Storyteller focuses on a former Nazi now living in America who requests forgiveness for his actions from a young Jewish woman.  I could not put this book down.  It was so intense and I could feel real emotion from the fictional characters.  I’ve seen a quote, that says something to the effect of “People are walking around and I’m over here recovering from this book” – which is exactly how I felt when I finished The Storyteller. I even used the word emotional in describing it, which for me to have feelings, kind of a big deal. A must read, in my opinion.

I then started Living with Honor by Staff Sergeant Sal Guinta.  Yep – the Medal of Honor recipient from Iowa. In fact, he went to my high school and my sister was in his graduating class.  It was neat to read the first couple of chapters that set the scene, including my good ole hometown CR. I can’t say the book was super well written, but it really felt like Sal was sitting there talking to you and telling you about his life.  Iowa Pride!

********************************************************************************************

I’m gearing up toward April – I’m signed up for a class (cupcake decorating, did you expect anything else?) and I’ve told myself I need to start training for my half marathon. I’m thinking the Des Moines half in October, so I’ve got some time to get ready.   I’ve also got a “Kelly Learns How to Style Her Hurrr” Day scheduled with a friend – braiding, curling, and maybe combing it.  Stay in touch – Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram – get at me!

Leave a Reply

