July 2013

People, where is my life going?  How in the world is it the end of July already?  Little kid Kelly would be psyched up for August and Back to School Season and already have her school supplies bought, smelled, fondled, etc, but Working Girl Kelly would like time to slow down!  July was a jam-packed month, with something fun and exciting every single weekend!  Traveling to Kansas City, Des Moines, exotic Monticello, and Cedar Falls – my wonderful car Iris packed on the miles this month.  In fact, on my drive tonight, she hit 100,000 miles! There’s no stopping.

****************************************************************************

#4: RUN THE COLOR RUN

I was so excited for the Color Run – they really mean it when they call it the Happiest 5K on the planet.  I had run it previously in October when it was about -235810 degrees, so I was happy for a nice summer day.  I went to Des Moines with 2 coworkers, Nora and Christina, and met up with my Plumsauce Michelle.  We had a blast running the whole thing!  Nora even skipped for a bit! After the run, we hung around for what can only be described as a sober rave.  SO MUCH FUN.  Color throws, rockin’ music, happy people. I impressed my coworkers with my rap skillz, so all in all, a very successful day.

The group!

The group!

Bahahaha my favorite picture of the day.

Bahahaha my favorite picture of the day.

Color Throw!

Color Throw!

#6: TRY A NEW-TO-ME DINNER RECIPE ONCE A MONTH

Unintentionally, I made a new to me recipe at the beginning of the month. Sushi?! SAY WHAT.  I went to a friend’s Japanese themed birthday and we made sushi and takioko balls. WITH FREAKING OCTOPUS. SAY WHAT? Glad I tried it, don’t need to do it again.

Happy Birthday Rachel! Check out the baby octopi and sushi.

Happy Birthday Rachel! Check out the baby octopi and sushi.

#7 – MAKE A BATCH OF CUPCAKES ONCE A MONTH AND BE A LEGIT CUPCAKE QUEEN.

Thin Mint cupcakes ya’ll! I pinned this recipe on Pinterest awhile ago and had even saved back a box of Thin Mints, for just the right occasion.  I made up 2 dozen for the youth group meeting.  As of right now, I have no youth and a whole bunch of cupcakes. Update, I now have 4 youth in my basement.

The cupcakes turned out great! The frosting did NOT.  The recipe called for a Mocha Butter Cream frosting.  Due to me being an idiot, I didn’t buy/have half of the frosting ingredients so I thought I could Becky-Home-Ecky it up with other ingredients.  It started getting to the right consistency, so I was feel pretty proud of myself.  After one small taste, the frosting was a BIG FAT FAIL! Thankfully I had some regular ole white frosting, and I put some green food coloring in it.  Boom, Thin Mint cupcakes.

On a side note, you know you’ve made a name for yourself, when people refer to you as Cupcake Kelly.  It happened this weekend and it was awesome.

The instagram filter really brings out the green.

The instagram filter really brings out the green.

#11: TRAVEL TO OLATHE AND VISIT NICKI’S PLACE

I was smart when I made this list and put something fun like visiting one of your best friends! I went to Olathe/Kansas City over 4th of July weekend.  Nicki and I (or Kenan and Kel as some people call us) HAD A BLAST! We took in a Royals game, 2 rounds of fireworks, pool time, a concert featuring Carly Rae Jepsen, 2 movies, and some shopping.  Can’t wait to visit her again in just a couple of weeks – we’re seeing Bruno Mars in concert!

What is more patriotic than watching a baseball game on the 4th of July with one of your best friends while wearing a Captain America bro tank?

What is more patriotic than watching a baseball game on the 4th of July with one of your best friends while wearing a Captain America bro tank?

 

Of course we found a cupcake place. Smallcakes was a winner on Cupcake Wars!

Of course we found a cupcake place. Smallcakes was a winner on Cupcake Wars!

 

Carly Rae Jepsen = Tinkerbell

Carly Rae Jepsen = Tinkerbell

****************************************************************

Also, I may have found my 24th thing – biking! I’m a newbie and I’m nowhere near the crazy that RAGBRAI riders are, but it’s awesome.  I joined a work bike club and signed up for a 60 mile route with my part-time boyfran Nick at the beginning of September.

CURRENT OBSESSIONS: Henry Cavill, Man of Steel, and the Man of Steel soundtrack (notice a theme?).  Also the song “Accapella” by Karmin, and the accapella Slovenian group Perpetuum Jazzile, specifically their covers of Africa and Telephone.

And because I'm feeling sentimental, here's some of my former roomies. The 4 of us lived together for 3 years at school and got to see each other this past weekend at B's wedding. Been through so much with these girls!

And because I’m feeling sentimental, here’s some of my former roomies. The 4 of us lived together for 3 years at school and got to see each other this past weekend at B’s wedding. Been through so much with these girls!

One thought on “July 2013

Leave a Reply

