August 2013

Welp people, this has been my worst month yet! Holy crap!  If you’re into excuses, mine are: I traveled 3 weekends in a row, went to 3 concerts and 2 weddings, and made plans (re: I have friends!) on weeknights. Waaaah.

#7 – MAKE A BATCH OF CUPCAKES ONCE A MONTH & BECOME A LEGIT CUPCAKE QUEEN

I did get one thing done. Not cupcakes – but chewy M&M bars! And they turned out great.  The recipe was easy to follow and lucky me, I had pretty much all the ingredients, so my weekly trip to Walmart (I know, shame shame), was kept to a reasonable 15 minute trip rather than roaming the baking aisle and calling my mother every 2 minutes with a random question. But seriously, where does one find active yeast for bread?

Anywho, the M&M bars were great.  I made them for my coworker’s last day in the office (we called them “We Will Miss You Bars).  When I was making the recipe, the dough was not holding together at all, so I figured “hey, add an egg.” That did the trick.  Then it was almost too sticky to spread out in the 9×13 pan, so I went with an 8×8.  My bars were a little thicker than the recipe, but Imma give myself an A on this assignment.

Finished product

Finished product

Yummo!

Yummo!

Here’s the rest of August in pictures.

Aug 3: Went to see a benefit concert featuring my main man Gary Sinise and the Lt. Dan Band.

Aug 3: Went to see a benefit concert featuring my main man Gary Sinise and the Lt. Dan Band.

So pumped for Gary.

So pumped for Gary.

August 4: My beautiful coworker's wedding.  Here is Nora, bride Christina, and myself

August 4: My beautiful coworker’s wedding. Here is Nora, bride Christina, and myself

 

The next weekend I went back to Olathe, KS to visit Nicki. We went to a Bruno Mars concert on Friday night and went to a Fork N Dine movie theater on Saturday.  A full meal with your movie!

The next weekend I went back to Olathe, KS to visit Nicki. We went to a Bruno Mars concert on Friday night and went to a Fork N Dine movie theater on Saturday. A full meal with your movie!

Great Midwest Hot Air Balloon Fest.

Great Midwest Hot Air Balloon Fest.

Stopped in Des Moines for cheesecake and bestie time.

Stopped in Des Moines for cheesecake and bestie time.

August 17: Iowa State Fair! Bestie and I went for the afternoon and saw Train in concert that night.

August 16: Iowa State Fair! Bestie and I went for the afternoon and saw Train in concert that night.

August 17: coworker Cindy got married! In a showstopper of a dress, holy moly.

August 17: coworker Cindy got married! In a showstopper of a dress, holy moly.

Got to visit Captain Kirk's future birthplace. This nerd is happy.

Got to visit Captain Kirk’s future birthplace. This nerd is happy.

**************************************************************

September will be better! I’m sitting here watching Big Ten Network and getting PUMPED for Hawkeye Football.  If you don’t know this about me: I LOVE fall and I LOVE football (any college or professional team really, just not ISU, EVER).  I’m so ready for it – jeans, scarves, boots, football, leaves, hayrack rides, etc.  Do people still do hayrack rides? Becky Joyful, let’s get this done.

I’m doing my official 24th thing TOMORROW – a 60 mile bike ride! And then after this ride, it’s hard core training for this half marathon in October. Holy crap.  Appreciate your support throughout my endeavors and thanks for reading!

One thought on “August 2013

Leave a Reply

