September 2013

I know you’ve got my list memorized, so you probably remember #12 – Unplug from Facebook and Twitter for a whole day.  Welp, I’m almost unplugged, my iOS 7 update has not gone well. I can’t receive any texts, get any Twitter notifications, or open my Snapchats.  Seriously, the only people who have had it worse than this is the Donner party.

#6: TRY A NEW-TO-ME RECIPE ONCE A MONTH, OR MORE IF I END UP LIKING IT. 

These are cop-out recipes fo sho, but they are new to me.  Chocolate chip muffins (mix + water + chocolate chips).  Of course me baking something always requires a couple of questions to my mother. “Mom, what consistency am I aiming for on these cupcakes?” “Muffin consistency”. REALLY?!

Also–try out my new favorite trail mix: peanuts, M&Ms, and candy corn. Salty, sweet, and chocolate, a girl’s best fraaan.

Muffin tops.

Muffin tops.

#7: MAKE A BATCH OF CUPCAKES ONCE A MONTH AND BE A LEGIT CUPCAKE QUEEN. 

This month I made Funfetti Cake Batter Fudge – found it on my Pinterest.  The recipe went off without a hitch, except the part where it was covered in tin foil.  I made the fudge for the confirmation kiddos (btw, I’m a confirmation mentor this year!) and I had to make sure each piece didn’t have extra tin foil pieces in the funfetti. The kiddos liked the fudge and they even told me they liked my fudge more than the next week’s treats.

Someone didn't take any because he was worried about his insulin. I'll take that as a compliment.

Someone didn’t take any because he was worried about his insulin. I’ll take that as a compliment.

#19: DO A PINTEREST CRAFT PROJECT ONCE A MONTH. 

CRAFT FAIL, that’s all I’ve got to say.  To make a long story short, I just spent the better part of 90 minutes carving four fake pumpkins with my work’s logo into them.  Aaaaaand, it was a big disaster, as in they kept caving in and not holding together.  The proof is in the picture.

Fail fail fail.

Fail fail fail.

#22: READ A NEW BOOK, 2 A MONTH. 

Working on a book called “The Story” as part of our church wide Bible Study.  Sometimes I forget to read my assigned chapters, but my wonderful friend Becky Joyful always sends incredibly detailed emails with a summary and questions.

#24: DO SOMETHING CRAZY – I DID A 60 MILE BIKE RIDE!

I decided for my 24th thing, to take part in the Gran Gable Bike ride in Iowa on Sept 1.  I had gotten a new bike earlier this summer and was excited to do something different. (Plus training for long bike routes meant not training for a half marathon).   The routes were 25, 60, or 100 miles.  My part time boyfran Nick and I decided to do the 60 mile ride.  He did the entire week of RAGBRAI this summer, so he would have no problem with 1 day, he’d just have to put up with me.  I couldn’t stress to Nick enough how slow I might go up certain hills, by gosh darn it, I got up every single one.  I had a blast!  About the 2nd rest stop, I remembered that I hadn’t remembered to put on any sunscreen.  Whoops.  I figured, a little color is better than none. Welllll, you can scroll and see for yourself what happened.

I loved the bike ride.  About mile 50 I was over it (and my back was so hot, I’m sure you could fry eggs off it).  But I finished and I was so proud of myself!  Plus the beer at the end of the route made it all worth it!

Before the ride, we are pumped!

Before the ride, we are pumped!

Post ride beer!

Post ride beer!

Ask my mom about waiting at the finish line.

Ask my mom about waiting at the finish line.

 

Not sure what is more depressing - my back being this burnt or the fact that I am this pale in real life.

Sunday night after the ride: Not sure what was more depressing – my back being that burnt or the fact that I am this pale in real life.

****************************************************************************

CURRENT OBSESSIONS:  

2 this month!   If you know me, you know my *NSYNC obsession, and of course, Justin Timberlake was my favorite of the group. You also know I love Twitter.  The #Hashtag video with Justin Timberlake and Jimmy Fallon is hilarious.  My roomies and I hashtagged everything this weekend (sidenote, 3 obsessions–love my roomies).

2nd obsession – it’s TV premiere season.  I’m a TV junkie. If there was a program like AA for TV Junkies… I wouldn’t be in it, because I’d be watching TV.  I’ve started a couple new shows – Hostages on CBS and Agents of SHIELD on ABC. Along with the usual suspects – How I Met Your Mother, Arrow, Criminal Minds, Big Bang Theory, Glee, Say Yes to the Dress.

Had to share this picture: me and my new boo Warner. (Really he's my old roomie Stacy's son, not just a random baby).

Had to share this picture: me and my new boo Warner. He’s slowly making me change my mind about kiddos being scary. 

One thought on “September 2013

  1. I can vouch that the muffins and the fudge were delicious! 🙂 Also, those pumpkins seemed so promising at the store…you should maybe print that picture off of your failed attempts and tape it near the display so people are warned before they buy. 😉

    Hope your update works all its quirks out and you’re feeling less isolated soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

