October 2013 (aka Half Marathon Heart Attack)

This will be a relatively short post, because I did 12/13ths of one of my things to do.  Ahhh yes, my half marathon, what a story.

#5 – RUN A HALF MARATHON

I got this crazy idea back in December 2012 to do this list and run a half marathon was one of the first things I thought of.  I HATE(D) RUNNING.  I thought if I challenged myself to run a half, I’d learn to love running, I’d slim down these child bearing hips a bit, and be one of those cool people always in running shoes with my hurrr up, looking athletic.

Admittedly, I could have trained a little more for this half.  I didn’t stick to a good running schedule and was pretty sporadic, just willing myself to not stop until I reached my goal.  I reached 8 miles, which lezzbehonest, is a feat in itself.   My mother (who I should know by now is pretty much ALWAYS right) was worried that I hadn’t trained enough or was going to roll my ankle. I assured her I would not.

The day of the half arrived.  I was doing the IMT Half Marathon in Des Moines, and I highly suggest it.  Very well organized, good route, and a ton of fun.  My bestie Sara and I were running with her older brother Chip and his bestie, Bart.  I was SO excited to run and DO THIS THING.  The run started (please note, it is a RUN for me, not a RACE 😉 ).  I felt great the entire time and ran the whole thing.  The spectators were awesome.  The best sign I saw was “This parade sucks, thow me some candy”

Sare Bear took off from our pack of 4 and finished in under 2.5 hours (because she’s a beast).  Chip stayed in sight with Sara and Chip hung out with me.  I had a good time with Bart and felt really great knowing that I was going to finish and there would be someone with me.  (You bond quite quickly with someone you’re running with, I’ve learned).   I had my phone on me and would text my mom every two miles just so she knew I was alive and kicking.

At 11.98 miles I texted her “12”.  At 12 miles I turned to Bart and said “I wanna slow down, I feel dizzy”.  Before I even slowed down, I had passed out.  I didn’t brace myself and hit my head.  Apparently I was out for 3 minutes or so, but came to, kicking and not pleased.  Let me tell you, the moment you wake up from passing out, realize you’re 1.1 miles from finishing and probably not going to finish, is DEVASTATING.   I’m not much of a cryer, so my baditude was with the EMTs who were on the scene and helping me when I came to.  I did not want to get in the ambulance and apparently kicked someone who offered to finish the race for me.  I WANTED TO FINISH SO BAD.  I tried to bargain with the EMTs to let me walk the rest and then they could take me to the hospital.  After much whining and dining, I got in the ambulance and went to the ER.

Bart stayed with me in the ambulance and all the way to the ER.   Let me tell you, calling your mother from an ambulance is great fun.  She answered (thinking I had finished the run) very excited for me.  When she realized I wasn’t joking about passing out and being in an ambulance, Mare Bear got real worried and her and my dad hit the road to Des Moines.  My dad even went 71 on the highway.

At the hospital, I had some tests run on me, including two EKGs, and it was determined I had a “prolonged QT interval”.  Basically my heart wasn’t keeping up with my body and my heartbeat was irregular.  There’s an actual syndrome called prolonged QT which can lead to sudden dizziness, fainting, or DEATH.  I think the last part freaked Mare Bear out a little bit, and the hospital too, so I stayed overnight to run an ultrasound and echocardiogram the next day.

After two days in the hospital, three doctor appointments the week after, and a 48 hour heart monitor, I’ve been cleared.  Juuuust overexertion and not training well enough (that’s what makes me mad).  But please note, my mom thought I would roll my ankle, and I did not.

Looking back to where I started – huffing and puffing after 1.5 miles and shin splints, to running 12/13ths of a half marathon, I am pretty proud of myself.  I don’t mind running now, and if I’m going to go for a run, it’s not going to be 1.5 miles, it’s going to be 4 at least.  I’m looking forward to running again and I WILL FINISH A HALF MARATHON.

Wearing garbage bags to keep warm the morning of the race.

Wearing garbage bags to keep warm the morning of the race.

Our verse is Phil 4:13. "I can do all things through Him who strengthens me".  I would repeat this to myself over and over!

Our verse is Phil 4:13. “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me”. I would repeat this to myself over and over! We made matching headbands the night before.

Here we are running, about mile 2!

Here we are running, about mile 2! Chip is in blue, and my new best fraaaan Bart is in orange. 

My friends Justin and Trisha (who also ran the half AND GOT ENGAGED AFTER!) and Nick (remember him, my biking buddy?) came and visited me on my first night.  And they brought cupcakes!

My friends Justin and Trisha (who also ran the half AND GOT ENGAGED AFTER!) and Nick (remember him, my biking buddy?) came and visited me on my first night. And they brought cupcakes!

Although I’m thinking this blog gets about an average of three readers a month, I just wanted to thank my family and friends and everyone who checked up on me during this little incident.  It’s hard to feel bad when you’ve got such awesome support from a great group of people.

__________________________________________________________________________

2 thoughts on “October 2013 (aka Half Marathon Heart Attack)

  1. Hooray for running 12 miles! You’re amazing! 🙂 I’m glad your little episode was just a blip and nothing too serious. Also… “my dad even went 71 on the highway”…hahahhaha! Love it.

    When are you thinking of starting those Christmas cards that are on your list? If you’re thinking of being crafty, maybe we could make a fun night of it and I could work on mine too! Or if you’re already planning on doing some with Mary, maybe I could crash your card-making party. 🙂

Leave a Reply

